The choice of vehicle affects the gps signal (?!)

I capture my sequences mainly from a bicycle, less often from a car, public transport. And the accuracy of the gps track periodically upsets me greatly, although I studied and tested all the settings.
It would seem that the bike does not have a metal roof that can distort the signal … But the tracks turn out just awful …
The other day I had a long city trip by car, I fixed the external gps antenna at the lower edge of the windshield, and … the tracks turned out to be perfect!
What’s the matter?
Is the bicycle steering wheel distorting the signal? !!

Distorted path when riding a bike.
The true route is highlighted in red.

Almost perfect tracks recorded from a car among high-rise buildings

Does the GPS receiver has the same clear sky view in booth cases? Usually, in care beyond the windscreen , the GPS has an overall good sky view. On bicycle, where is your GPS? Don’t you cover it with your own body. Moreover, with care, you’re far from trees while with bicycle, you may be under trees, especially in your samples.

1 Like

looks like the gps receiver’s fault - overcorrecting for a bicycle?
I presume yours has glonass, and I also presume you don’t have any military installations possibly affecting gps accuracy in Barnaul

1 Like

I agree with this question. Several of the places you bike are so close to buildings or trees that a car could not go there. Even on the roads in the same areas, the car would often be more in the middle of the opening and have a broader view of the Sky.

Two of the main GPS problems are lack of clear view of the Sky and signal reflections from buildings.

Going from one side of the road to the other, can cause a challenge if there are trees or buildings close to you. Effectively the GPS has to lock onto several new sattelistes, resulting in lower accuracy for some time.