Newbie question - Can we only view Mapillary images in OSM, but can't add them to OSM?

I am very new to how these tools work.

I was hoping to drop some panoramic photos onto a map, to increase the coverage of a outdoor adventure park. Essentially to allow people to have a virtual look around, before actually going out there, since its a reasonable distance from the city.

But I then found that Mapillary doesn’t allow us to tweak the location of the images. Nor does it let us rotate panoramas so they point in the correct direction.

I looked at OSM, and it had a Mapillary plugin, so I was trying to use that to view and change the images in OSM.

But I am getting the strong impression that I have the wrong idea. And that Mapillary images will never appear directly on OSM when viewing. (Editing, yes of course)

And since Mapillary images are uneditable for location / rotation, Mapillary is useless for me and anyone who doesn’t have very accurate GPS logger and a compass that is accurate.

And of course I very likely have the wrong idea about Mapillary.

Mapillary_tools are very versatile. Tweaking of the image position and direction is easily done prior to processing/uploading. The simplest way is to edit the relevant GPS tags in the image EXIF, check their position (say) as an overlay on Viking/OSM, them process/upload them.

AFAIK there is no facility to change position/direction information once uploaded. It is however possible to delete your upload via the Mapillary GUI and upload the same (modified) etc set.

Keep in mind that the standard OSM viewing GUI is only one way to display the OSM information. If there is an image link within the OSM node then with suitable coding it can be made visible. I don’t personally know of any other website etc that does this automagically but is worth a look.

See Photo linking - OpenStreetMap Wiki

1 Like