[feature request] Scenic Spots on Mapillary

Hi,

I’m a traveling photographer and already contributed thousands of high quality 360 panoramas of scenic locations around the world on Google Maps and Google Street View (my contributor’s profile).
However, google decided to shut down Street View platform and I’m going to upload all my photospheres to Mapillary.

I examined Mapillary platform and see that it may be well suited for the purpose of discovering scenic locations in remote areas like national parks and nature reserves.

There is an example of scenic spots images on Mapillary map in New Zealand

But, I see that Mapillary is primarily centered on road image sequences to collect data for computer models and single images is not it’s priority. At this moment it’s almost impossible to explore scenic spots as all single images (which are not in sequences) are only visible on the map at maximum zoom levels and disappear on zooming out.

To make Mapillary more suitable for the discovery of scenic spots I’d suggest adding a few convenient features:

• The ability to mark uploaded images as scenic spots (or using additional metadata tag in exif header) to distinguish them from street imagery.
  • The ability to mark a profile as a dedicated contributor of scenic spot images and treat all uploaded images as scenic spots.
  • Use a different color for dots on the map for scenic spots imagery.
  • Add image filter for scenic spots.
  • Add OpenTopoMap and satellite/aerial imagery map layer as they make it more convenient to explore scenic areas like nature reserves.
3 Likes

Thanks for your message, @coronaviking. We always welcome more images, especially in 360. Roads has more coverage as this, I would guess, is an easier target then more time-consuming capture on go, etc.

@boris what do you think about mentioned features?

BR, Yaro.