Some Observations on Avoiding Fusion Studio Crashes

This began as thread drift on a different topic, but I decided to post it here as a separate topic. I also want to preface it by saying that I have very little experience with the GoPro Fusion 360 camera or the Fusion Studio software; but I have observed a definite pattern behind the frequent crashes (and ways to work around them), and I think sharing my observations may be helpful (albeit also somewhat speculative).

On every single occasion when Fusion Studio has crashed in my own experience, it was when it came across an uninterrupted sequence that the camera decided to split into multiple folders. I have observed that the camera does this when it loses or re-acquires the GPS signal, but there may be other reasons, as well.

What happens on the Fusion Studio end is that it identifies all the images as belonging to the same multishot sequence (presumably by reading the EXIF timestamps), and attempts to process them as such. It names the task after the first folder in the sequence.

The problem is that Fusion Studio inevitably will crash on the first image in the second folder. I suspect this is because the file name no longer matches the name it gave to the task based on the first folder, but that’s just a hunch. What isn’t a hunch is that in my experience, it has happened every time Fusion Studio encountered a sequence that the camera split into two folders.

The simple workaround is to import the images from the SD cards into the computer manually. It doesn’t matter whether you use an SD card reader or just copy them from the camera using Windows Explorer. The problem isn’t the camera’s USB interface. It’s the software’s inability to deal with sequences that the camera divided into multiple folders.