How dark may photos be

It is getting winter again and the days are getting shorter and shorter.
I do a lot of my mapping after work and a relevant question is, how dark may photos be, before they become unusefull.
I took a sequence this week and didn’t upload all photos, because it was getting really dark (around 16:30)

Where should we draw the line, and does it mather if the location already is mapped or not?

Please come with your own exempelphotos

I would say once it’s too dark for your camera to keep up without blurring, that’s the level of darkness that’s good. In your examples, I would say 1 and 2 are fine, but the last 4 are getting too blurry to be useful (#3 is okay…). Sure, you can vaguely see some features, but if there are signs, I can’t read them.

In this sequence of mine, I started riding home at 16:55 in February. I finished at 17:34, sunset at 17:36.

This is the beginning:
https://www.mapillary.com/app/?lat=40.72428055555556&lng=-77.93255277777779&z=17&pKey=fVgaaaUMJ1YJ0_a0H1PB6w&focus=photo

This is right near the end, when I shut off the camera because I felt it was getting too dark:
https://www.mapillary.com/app/?lat=40.81774722222222&lng=-77.85126666666666&z=17&pKey=ESh7PVkLmarzYw-MtvPHLQ&focus=photo

Then again, I’ve had problems with blurring on reasonably bright days on hikes in the woods, so it’s not easy to judge darkness. Our eyes are too good for that. But generally speaking, I find that between sunrise and sunset are good. If my bike GPS switches to night mode, I know it’s probably too dark.

I know we say that anything is better than nothing, but if that anything is really blurry, I’m not too sure. Your last photo shows that the road is probably asphalt, but that’s pretty much all you can get from it.

Both your photos are still perfect I would say.
I took the photos I showed on last wednesday, and I was to lazy to turn the camera off. The sequence I upploaded ended between photo 2 and 3, but it has som dark sequence in the forest.