Best starter bike/car setup?

Hi there! I’m just getting started and need some advice:

1. I primarily cycle around town and plan on capturing imagery via the app from my Moto g5 Plus. I’m struggling to find a mount that allows for horizontal positioning and doesn’t obstruct the camera lens. Any recommendations?

2. Looking to make an initial investment in an action camera for the car. Any opinions on GoPro vs. Sony? Hood-mounted seems to provide better imagery than dash… But I’m scared of hitting a pothole at high speed and losing the camera! Ha! Any recommendations for a sturdy hood mount?

Hi @HappyMapper,

You can get a free mount for your bike from here - https://shop.mapillary.com/ which will get you started. I now use a GoPro Hero 7 Black for all my car capture and have it on a fixed mount that has been adapted from GarminVirb mounts. This is after trying a few cameras - Garmin Virb (not recommended), Virb XE (better but still had issues), Contour Plus 2 (low resolution).

If you were considering multiple cameras then be aware that GoPro app can only control ONE camera running time lapse images, but multiple for video which means more processing before uploading. I believe multiple Sony cameras can be controlled from a single app/button.

This thread has some great images of various approaches for vehicle mounts

Thanks @tastrax, just submitted my request.

Nice link & feedback about the cameras and setups, lots of great options to choose from. Will likely test GoPro Hero 7 Black and hood suction w/tether etc during a road trip to Yellowstone next month.

Hello HappyMapper,