Could Someone Give me Advice on Efficiently Mapping Large Rural Areas?

Hello there,

I am relatively new to Mapillary and I am looking for some advice on how to efficiently map large rural areas. I have a project in mind to document the scenic and less traveled roads in my region; which is predominantly rural with long stretches of unpaved roads; forests; and some hilly terrain.

What kind of camera setup would be most suitable for capturing high-quality images in these conditions? I have read about different 360 degree cameras; action cameras; and even using smartphones. I am curious about your experiences and what you would recommend for this type of project.

Since a lot of the roads are rough and unpaved; what are the best mounting solutions to ensure the camera remains stable and secure?

How do you manage the workflow from capturing images to uploading them to Mapillary? Any software tools or methods that help streamline the process would be very helpful.

Additionally; what is the best way to handle large amounts of data; considering the extended duration of my mapping sessions?

Also, I have gone through this post: https://forum.mapillary.com/t/how-mapillary-helps-you-stumble-across-new-things/914tableau which definitely helped me out a lot.

Given that I will be spending long hours on the road; how do you manage battery life and storage capacity? Are there any portable power solutions or high capacity storage options you find particularly useful?

Thankyou in advance for your help and assistance.

Let’s start with your objective: is it to document road infrastructure, and then improve OSM based on that data? Or is it general imagery collection to get an area represented on a photo map?

If the former, your focus would be on capturing the road straight ahead and traffic signs. If the latter, then I guess you’d need to control camera direction to capture what you think is nicer.