Thoughts on gameification

I just had some thoughts on how a point system could be made for gameification of Mapillary. The current point system does not encourage e.g. to cover areas not already covered or cover areas better. I don’t expect it to be used, but perhaps it can help brainstorming to the final result.

I started thinking when I started playing Munzee: People set up stickers with QR codes everywhere. They get points for that and when people can them both gets points. In my local area they are everywhere. If just half of these people spend that effort on Mapillary, there would be much better coverage.

The big picture
The goal of the game is to conquer as much as the World as possible.

The World is split into squares which measures anything between 5x5m to 30x30 meters. Setting the size should take into account the precision of GPS devices and still be so small that only a single road will usually pass through a square.

The person with most “points” in a square has conquered it.

Points are given to encourage to take pictures in new places, to go where less people goes, to point the camera in many directions and to revisit areas after some time.

When to get points
A normal picture is worth 1 point. Within a square a person can only get points for up to e.g. 24 (here 3x8) images and they should point in 8 different directions (I knows the compass of phones are horrible bad). I.e. 3 sets of images each with 8 images pointing in different directions. This will encourage to also point the camera in other directions than just straight ahead.

Panoramas should count for more points, e.g. 10 points (in this example only giving points for 3 in each square), spherical photos should e.g. count for 20 points and historic images (date before Mapillary started) should also get a premium that corresponds to the time it takes to find them and manually geotag them.

Points changes value