Garmin Virb light problem

So I am new to the action camera world, but recently bought a Garmin Virb XE to do some mapillary:ing. But so far my experience is not good. The problem is that many pictures become dark.

Here everything is perfect
http://www.mapillary.com/map/im/z7HybG8FvBDW6-eID678BA/photo

And then one picture later its dark
http://www.mapillary.com/map/im/3U60Iho1cxrx3_8WWQMVtg/photo

I would get it if I was taking pictures against the sun, but why here?

It goes on for several minutes, until here
http://www.mapillary.com/map/im/v8hMT-JF_NfrtkM-B1o37Q/photo

And this example is still very good. In many other cases it is much more extreme.

I have experienced the same. It seems like it doesn’t measure exposure very often or measures it incorrectly.

1 Like

@andblu, I have a couple Garmin Virb Elite’s. I have never had that problem. What did Garmin have to say?

Do you know how to check if it’s firmware is up to date? It seems like they could have a fix for something like that.

I’ve been testing a Virb XE, and my experience shows that regardless of what interval you set the photos to be taken, the exposure/white balance are only checked every three seconds. So if you want a good accurate set of photos, set the interval to 3/s, which makes it seem pointless to have the Virb at all. My $40 action cameras also take 3/s photos, and their quality is not much worse, even though the megapixels are much lower.

The XE have a setting where you can lock exposure, or force over/under exposure on the photos. I have not tried these settings as I generally have sufficient light, and the camera have been quick to adjust exposure when moving in and out of shadows.

Elite have a much different menu setup, and don’t give access to setting exposure manually.

I make even darker pictures from inside my car, mostly in built_up streets.

My lens correct is ON.

That EV lock is only for video en video time lapse.

I have a Mercedes B with a sliding trasparent roof window.